Item 1

Our Heritage

In 1868, German brewing apprentice Adolph Coors immigrates to America. Driven by the ambition to establish a top-notch brewery and beer, he treks into Golden, Colorado in search of quality water. He finds what he’s been searching for.

Adolph partners with Jacob Schueler and the two men open the Golden Brewery – producing the first of their Rocky Mountain beer. Coors buys out his partner in 1880 to become the sole owner of the brewery. Proof that his business chops are as keen as his knack for brewing.

Item 2

Our Heritage

In 1916, prohibition hits Colorado three years before the rest of the country. Beer production halts as the brewery is ordered to drain 561 barrels. Undaunted, Coors concentrates on its successful porcelain business, while also producing malted milk and near-beer.

Coors adds “Banquet Beer” to its name in 1936. As legends go, back in the 1800s, local miners would celebrate with get-togethers called Banquets. They stocked the parties with plenty of Coors from the nearby brewery. The “Banquet Beer” became a part of the Coors’ name as homage to those lively gatherings and western legacy.

Item 3

Our Heritage

Distribution remains limited from 1873-1991, reaching just 10 western states by 1939. This keeps thirst for the brew high, and the Banquet Beer develops a dedicated following across America. A former US president even stocks Air Force One with cases of Coors in 1975.

Tour de force trucker movie, Smokey and the Bandit, features 400 cases of smuggled Coors. Audiences everywhere are captivated, further popularizing Coors “Yellow Bellies.” 

Item 4

Our Heritage

In 2014, the Banquet Beer heads north and makes its much-anticipated debut in Canada and beer drinkers across the nation welcome The Legend with open arms.

Follow us on Instagram
See the Legacy on Youtube
Join Banquet on Facebook

Item 1

Notre héritage

En 1868, l’apprenti brasseur allemand Adolph Coors immigre en Amérique. Poussé par l’ambition d’établir une brasserie de renom et une bière exceptionnelle, il s’aventure à Golden, au Colorado, à la recherche d’une source d’eau de qualité. Il y trouve exactement ce qu’il cherche.

Adolph s’associe à Jacob Schueler et, ensemble, ils ouvrent la brasserie Golden, produisant ainsi leur première bière provenant des montagnes Rocheuses. Coors rachète les parts de son associé en 1880 et devient ainsi le seul propriétaire de la brasserie. Preuve que son sens des affaires est aussi aiguisé que son talent de brasseur.

Item 2

Notre héritage

En 1916, la prohibition frappe le Colorado, trois ans avant d’affecter le reste du pays. La production de bière est arrêtée et la brasserie doit vider ses 561 barils. Courageux, Coors se concentre sur son entreprise de porcelaine, tout en continuant la production de lait malté et de bière sans alcool.

En 1936, Coors ajoute « La bière Banquet » à sa signature. Selon la légende, dans les années 1800, les mineurs locaux faisaient la fête au cours de banquets bien arrosés. La bière Coors provenant de la brasserie voisine coulait alors à flots. C’est pour rendre hommage à cette bière des banquets et à ses accents de l’Ouest que Banquet a été ajouté au nom de la marque.

Item 3

Notre héritage

Distribution remains limited from 1873-1991, reaching just 10 western states by 1939. This keeps thirst for the brew high, and the Banquet Beer develops a dedicated following across America. A former US president even stocks Air Force One with cases of Coors in 1975.

Dans le film populaire, Smokey and the Bandit, les deux routiers transportent 400 caisses de Coors de contrebande. Tous les publics sont séduits, popularisant ainsi à l’écran les « canettes jaunes » des bières Coors.

Item 4

Notre héritage

En 2014, la bière Banquet arrive enfin au Canada, où les amateurs de bière du pays accueillent « La légende » à bras ouverts.

Suivez-nous sur Instagram
Retrouvez des anecdotes de la famille sur YouTube
Rejoignez Banquet sur Facebook